Christmas Cookies – traditions old and new

I remember Mom LOVED Christmas time.

Her family would gather. She could once again treat them to traditional holiday enjoyment.

Besides the Christmas decorations, a holiday dinner on Christmas Eve, a family drive to look at Christmas lights before returning home to exchange gifts, Mom would make sure her family had some traditional Christmas treats.

Among the treats, Cookies. Christmas Cookies!!!

Mom taught me how to make sugar cookies.

Green Christmas Tree Sugar Cookie

Green Christmas Tree Sugar Cookie

Christmas Trees like Mom used to make.

Christmas Trees like Mom used to make.

Sugar cookies are a favorite Christmas cookie tradition. So are my Grandma Booth’s Swedish Jelly Cookies. I did not have the recipe handy, but I did locate one online. Ahhh, technology. 🙂

Grandma Booth's Swedish Jelly Cookies

Grandma Booth’s Swedish Jelly Cookies

While using my laptop, looking for the Swedish Jelly Cookie recipe, I also spied what just may become a tradition of mine to add to the mix. Cocoa Coffee Crinkles. Okay, they had me at “Cocoa”, so I thought they’d be worth a try and I was oh-so-right. YUM….Decadence! Dark chocolate, coffee and cinnamon in an easy to make cookie. This recipe called for some instant coffee, not having any I used some fresh finely ground coffee instead. Perfect.

Cocoa Coffee Crinkles

Cocoa Coffee Crinkles, a possible added tradition

 

Recipes I found online.

Sugar Cookies
I added a bit more Vanilla Extract (1/2 tsp) and a teaspoon of Almond Extract.
Also, I did not level the teaspoons of Baking Powder, but they weren’t super heaping either. … so actually just a bit more Baking Powder. And I added Green Food Coloring until the dough was the green I thought it should be. Be sure to refrigerate the dough. When you roll out the dough to cut the shapes, be sure to work with a small amount of dough, placing the rest of the dough back in the refrigerator. Roll out and Repeat. Bake for 6 minutes at the temperature given, Cool, Frost and EAT.

Swedish Jelly Cookies

Cocoa Coffee Crinkles

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies – traditions old and new

Leave a Reply

