Another way to look at vertigo

WOW!!!

What a feeling.

I have been dizzy…… that kind of rush you get when you have rode the merry-go-round a bit too long and tried to walk away after you hopped off…. or that whirling in your head and your tummy when you’ve been spun around far too much for whatever reason…. and there’s that bewildering feeling when you get some bad or sad news that will hit you upside the head and disorient you…. or the time you are just plain sick.

This, was different.

Way different!!!

A couple months ago, I suffered through vertigo. Not only once but twice. This was not the first time though. I had first experienced the severe whirlies of vertigo a few years ago. At the time I made an appointment with a doctor to be checked out.

Out of the blue it starts. No apparent reason. Not much in the way of a ‘cure’ from what I have read. You can go to a doctor who can manipulate your head and reposition some crystals in your inner ear but that is about all. Possibly surgery if necessary, but even that may not last.

Thanks to that first vertigo episode years ago, I KNEW what this was. The room was spinning all around me. All I had done was turn over in bed. OMG, how did THIS happen?

I KNEW to stay in bed!! What else could I do? I felt as if I even tried to do anything, such as walk to another room that I’d fall over on my face… and soon. I only hoped the whirling would not get worse, so bad that I would have to go to the doctor. I could not leave my bed.

I laid as still as I could, trying to force the room to STOP SPINNING.

I could not believe this was happening. All I did was turn over, in bed, onto my side and then everything moved and kept moving. It even got so bad a few times that I put my hands over my face and repeated….STOP…. ….STOP…. ….STOP…. PLEASE STOP!!!!!!!!!!!

Thankfully, I remembered what my Mom would do to comfort and calm me when I was sick. You see, I had migraines from the time I was a little girl. Sometimes they hurt so bad and I was so sick that I’d get hysterical. Mom would help me to calm down, to breath easier. So…. that’s what I did for myself. I did my best to calm myself down. I laid still with my eyes closed, did some deep breathing, did some muscle relaxation techniques all in hopes of falling asleep … just so I could get some relief. If I had to move I would move ever so slowly…. slow and deliberate. No fast or sudden moves.

I have no idea why I had these vertigo episodes, but I did realize one thing. The difference between a dizzy spell and vertigo.

Being dizzy means I am spinning around. Vertigo means the world is revolving around me. 🙂 … the ONLY thing amusing about vertigo.

Personally, I’d like to have neither. I’d prefer to have the comforting calmness that my Mom would help me achieve.

2 thoughts on “Another way to look at vertigo

  1. Love this memory of Mom’s comforting! I had a three week bout of vertigo several years back – – awful! Bonine worked for me. Sending steady thoughts and love.

Leave a Reply

