Her Shoes

Mom's Wedding ShoesI certainly did not remember seeing them before.
Yet, I KNEW what they were.

“Mom’s shoes!”

“Mom’s WEDDING shoes!!!”

Dad was clearing out some things after Mom had passed away in 2003. He had planned to give those shoes away. “Give Mom’s shoes away?” I grabbed them up and exclaimed, “NO WAY!” “We’re NOT giving Mom’s wedding shoes away.”

No matter if I never had the chance to use them, I was not going to give away the shoes Mom wore during her wedding.

I saved the shoes. I stored them away at my house. Some day, some one would be lucky enough to have the pleasure of using them.

Seasons passed. Mom’s wedding shoes were still safe in my closet.

In October of 2008, I met Jeff. We seemed to have a lot in common and yet enough differences to make things interesting. We established a friendship that became a wonderful relationship. Soon I realized I had fallen in love with Jeff. And, Jeff felt the same about me.

February 14, 2010 we became engaged. I KNEW what shoes I’d be wearing sooner than some day.

v

Mom’s photo, Mom’s wedding shoes, my wedding bouquet….photo taken shortly before my wedding to Jeff on 9.10.11.ย Notice the “Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval” in the arch of that shoe.

Mom's wedding shoes, my wedding dress

I wore my Mom’s wedding shoes, the ones she wore in 1956 when she walked down the aisle to marry Dad. I was honored to have Mom walk with me at my wedding, as well as walking with Dad. I love them both.ย Those shoes must have some magic in them, Mom and Dad were married for 47 years and blessed with a great relationship. Jeff and I are looking forward to many wonderful years together.

Showing Mom's wedding shoes

Mom walked me through my wedding ceremony. I wore the same shoes she wore at her wedding. We showed them off at the start of our wedding ceremony, so that all our family and friends would know I was walking in her shoes.

9 thoughts on “Her Shoes

  1. So beautiful… it made me smile. I understand where you’re coming from, wanting your mum to be there with you on your big day even though she physically isn’t. I lost my dad years ago and often feel saddened that he won’t be here on that big day. We keep whatever piece of them we can… shoes, a toilet bag (in my case ๐Ÿ™‚ ), or whatever else they owned that we want to hold on to; and we know they live on in our hearts.

    And congrats upon your wedding! Blessings, and many happy years ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you for your understanding, kind words and blessings. Thank you for reading.

      I often wonder how many other brides (and grooms) have had to get through their wedding without their parent or other family member. Jeff’s Dad had passed away several years ago, so we were missing him also. Sadly, we never had the pleasure of meeting each other’s deceased parent, yet we see their influence in our lives. To celebrate our parents we had their photos on display at our wedding, even a photo of Jeff’s late wife. She was influential in Jeff’s life (they had been married for 24 years when she died) and encouraged him to move forward in his life – – a great, loving gesture to which both Jeff and I benefit.

      I am sorry for your loss and encourage you to acknowledge him on your big day. We are so glad we did. Besides the photos and me wearing Mom’s shoes, we had butterflies in special places in our decorations, our bouquets and our flower girl’s necklace.

      We had a wonderful day and believe that our physically absent loved ones were there in spirit and were just as pleased as the ones in attendance.

      Take Care.

      • I looked at it as a “Thank You” to Jeff’s late wife. Before she died, they had a chat about the future, Jeff’s future. Jeff told her that he’d never marry again. She told him, “Never say never.” She encouraged him to go on with his life, to have a happy life. When she died he was devastated, yet, he got his life put back together, healed himself. Knowing that he’d probably live quite a few more years, he decided that he’d like to have another good relationship, if given the chance. After all, he had a good 24 years with her. She was an influence in Jeff’s life (as was his Dad) and did both of us a big favor by encouraging him to move forward after she was gone. I think she showed a great amount of love and support and I thank her.

      • I think so too. And 24 years is a full generation, a lifetime. Where most of us cannot think of the love of our life with anyone else other than ourselves, she encouraged him to find love again, to try at happiness at again. Which he has found with you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. When Ron and I got married, his dad was already long passed. My dad walked me down the aisle, and then on Monday, went to the doctor to find out he had cancer. He died just two months later. I’ve always felt, as the youngest in our family, that he waited just long enough to see that his three daughters were safely cared for and his job was done. Your story with Jeff is so touching. Thanks for cherishing each morsel of it, and having the gifts to share with us.

    • Thank you, Elizabeth. And, thanks for sharing your story. I am sure your Dad was pleased to know that his daughters were all well loved and cherished.

      I am lucky that my Dad is still here and was able to be in my wedding. In 1993 he had an abdominal aortic aneurysm, in 1995 heart bypass surgery, then if you can believe it, MORE health issues after that. He managed to recover. A friend of mine told me then that “Dad’s not done yet, you’re not married yet – he still has a job to do.” Even though I got married last September, Dad is not going anywhere, just yet. ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s still not done. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

